Sykes & Son have been based for over 250 years in one of the most picturesque and enchanting parts of the City of London, known as the Temple.

London’s Oldest Independent Contractor
Established in 1759 as George III was about to succeed to the throne, the company is highly respected as the capitals oldest independent builder.

Sykes roots were as a glazing and plumbing contractor, and today the business has grown into a multi-disciplined company with a number of prestigious awards and much revered client base.

Longstanding Relationships
The business that became Sykes & Son was formed by John Willis. The first evidence of the company completing works is from 12th April 1759, when an invoice for the princely sum of £6.1s.00d was raised for repairs and cleaning to the St Clement Danes Church windows.

The relationship has now gone full circle, and as recently as 2010, Sykes have returned to the church to complete works, demonstrating perfectly a commitment to maintaining long-term client relationships.

Longstanding clients include Buckingham Palace, Royal Courts of Justice, Foreign & Commonwealth Office and V&A Museum. Below is an extract from Sykes company literature from the 1930s detailing decoration work carried out at the Home Office (now known as the Foreign & Commonwealth Office) to function rooms ahead of the Locarno Treaty signed in 1925.